You take training FIRST. For when, where and cost, click the CCW Class tab above.To apply for a license you must be 21 years old and bring your training certificate with you. Application for a license to carry a gun in MO is made at the Sheriff of your county. If you live in St. Louis County, you apply in Clayton on the lower level of the old courthouse at the County Police records room. City of St. Louis residents apply to the city Sheriff. They will take your picture and fingerprints and up to $100. They then have 45 days to approve your application. You must return in person when notified to pick it up. It will list an expiration date in five years when you must return to the Sheriff to apply for a renewal. Renewals can cost up to $50 and there is no additional training required. However, many people return to us at that time to get an update on the laws and brush up on their skills. Our students only pay $60 for a repeat class. Licensees trained elsewhere may take our class for $75 if we have extra seats.
For regular CCW class cost and locations, click on the "CCW Class" tab above.
If you want good training, come be our guest for the day and study defensive techniques while you get your qualification done. We can teach you more in one day than you can learn in a lifetime of target shooting. People come from all over Missouri and Illinois to train here. They are so pleased that many return for more personal training in Advanced 1. From the lunch you are served right down to the quality of the chair you sit on all day, the experience we offer is a cut above the rest.
We've been firearms instructors for almost 30 years and we don't just teach the basic class the state requires, so we have a depth of knowledge that instructors who only teach a CCW class just don't have. People who already have their permit come here because we can take them beyond the basics. We do more classes than anybody which results in ours being HALF the size of most others. We would rather hold a couple of small classes per week than a couple of large ones per month. We're so serious about defensive handgun training that if you have a few people, we'll set up a class for you on almost any weekday. Sometimes we don't post these. If you would like to host a class we can even come to you! We travel all over to put on concealed carry permit and also Advanced classes for groups. Just ask for details.
Why train with Us?
Do I have to make another trip meet you at a range somewhere?
No. Our enclosed range is right here and you get it all done in one trip.Are you someone who only took an NRA class in the last few years to do CCW classes?
Here you'll get handgun training from an instructor who has been NRA certified since 1993 and completed his POST instructor certification at Law Enforcement Training Institute in 1995. We also have a female instructor who has been NRA certified since 1993. Our CCW class is more than just safety and marksmanship, click on the 'mailbag' tab above to see what past students had to say after taking the class.Do I have to shoot with a group?
If you take the INTRO and do the shooting privately, you'll get extra instruction on the range. You can then attend any class you want and get out early when the rest of the class shoots.Do you re-schedule if only one or two people show up?
We don't. You just get better training. A student just last week told me about comparing notes with his friend who took a different CCW class. He remarked that his friend got very little out of it but the certificate he needed to apply (he already KNEW how to target shoot). Our smaller classes teach you why all the skills most shooters improve on at the range work against you in self defense situations. If you want a really small class, weekdays usually are.I'm looking to buy a gun. Do you sell them?
We used to be firearms dealers. Now we don't sell them, so we have no conflict of interest when recommending one. In the carry class, we spend an hour on the good and bad aspects of how each type of mechanism operates. Afterwards, we offer free individual consulting on your gun or holster purchase so you can get advice from someone other than the person at the gun store.I have never owned a gun. Do you have a class for me?
Click the INTRO tab above. We'll teach you safety and marksmanship for only $50 with your gun or ours and you can qualify for CCW privately (FREE for K-12 teachers).